

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited Liability) (Stock Code: 763)

Announcement on Resignation of the Joint Company Secretary

The Company and all the members of the Board of Directors confirm that the information contained in this announcement is true, accurate and complete and that there are no false and misleading statements or material omissions in this announcement.

ZTE Corporation ("ZTE" or the "Company") hereby announces that Mr. Ngai Wai Fung ("Mr. Ngai"), Joint Company Secretary of the Company, has resigned as Joint Company Secretary of the Company with effect from 12 December 2008. Mr. Feng Jianxiong ("Mr. Fung"), has been confirmed by the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange") to be in compliance with provisions concerning company secretaries under Rule 8.17 (3) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

Following the resignation of Mr. Ngai, Mr. Feng will carry out duties as the Company Secretary of the Company independently. Mr. Ngai will be retained as an alternate to the authorised representative of the Company under Rule 3.06 of the Listing Rules and the authorised representative for receiving notices in Hong Kong on behalf of the Company under Part XI of the Companies Ordinance (Chapter 32 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

The Board of Directors of the Company wishes to express appreciation for Mr. Ngai's contributions to the Company during his tenure of office. The Board of Directors also confirms that there are no other matters regarding the resignation of Mr. Ngai that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders.

By Order of the Board Hou Weigui Chairman

Shenzhen, the PRC

12 December 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises three executive directors, Yin Yimin, Shi Lirong and He Shiyou; six non-executive directors, Hou Weigui, Wang Zongyin, Xie Weiliang, Zhang Junchao, Li Juping and Dong Lianbo; and five independent non-executive directors, Zhu Wuxiang, Chen Shaohua, Qiao Wenjun, Mi Zhengkun and Li Jin.