Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CNOOC Limited (中國海洋石油有限公司)

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 883)

ANNOUNCEMENT CHANGE OF JOINT COMPANY SECRETARY

The Company announces that with effect from 29 January 2010:

- (1) Mr. Xiao Zongwei has resigned as the joint company secretary of the Company; and
- (2) Mr. Jiang Yongzhi has been appointed as the joint company secretary of the Company.

Resignation of joint company secretary

CNOOC Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr. Xiao Zongwei ("Mr. Xiao") has resigned as the secretary of the Company with effect from 29 January 2010, as Mr. Xiao has taken on other duties within the Company pursuant to an internal re-allocation of roles and tasks.

Taking this opportunity, the Board would like to express its appreciation and gratitude to Mr. Xiao for his contribution and services to the Company.

Appointment of joint company secretary

The Board is pleased to announce that, after approval by the Board, Mr. Jiang Yongzhi ("Mr. Jiang") has been appointed as the joint company secretary of the Company with effect from 29 January 2010. Mr. Jiang will be assisted by Ms. Tsue Sik Yu, May, the other joint company secretary of the Company, to perform his duties as joint company secretary of the Company.

The Board warmly welcomes Mr. Jiang to his new position.

By Order of the Board CNOOC Limited Jiang Yongzhi Joint Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 29 January 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises the following:

Executive Directors Independent Non-executive Directors

Fu Chengyu (Chairman)

Yang Hua

Wu Guangqi

Edgar W. K. Cheng

Chiu Sung Hong

Lawrence J. Lau

Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius

Wang Tao

Non-executive Directors Zhou Shouwei Cao Xinghe

Wu Zhenfang