This announcement is for information purposes only and does not constitute an invitation or offer to acquire, purchase or subscribe for securities. This announcement is made pursuant to the requirements under Section 9(2) of the Securities and Futures (Price Stabilizing) Rules.

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA RESOURCES PEOPLES TELEPHONE COMPANY LIMITED

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)

(Stock Code: 331)

ANNOUNCEMENT OF END OF STABILIZING PERIOD

Unless otherwise stated, terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the prospectus dated 22 March 2004 issued by China Resources Peoples Telephone Company Limited (the "Company").

END OF STABILIZING PERIOD

The Company would like to announce that the stabilizing period in connection with the Global Offering ended on 24 April 2004. As advised by UBS, as stabilizing manager for the Global Offering, stabilizing actions were undertaken during the stabilizing period in the price range of between HK\$4.15 to HK\$4.475 per Share. As advised by the stabilizing manager, the date of the last purchase made in the course of the stabilizing actions was 6 April 2004 and such purchase was made at the price of HK\$4.15 per Share.

As at the date of this announcement, the Over-allotment Option has not been exercised. The Overallotment Option lapsed on 24 April 2004.

> By Order of the Board China Resources Peoples Telephone Company Limited Kong Kin Sing, James Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 27 April 2004

The executive Directors as at the date hereof are: Mr Leung Kai Hung, Michael, Ms Leung Ka On, Charlotte, Mr Wong Man Kwan, Willie and Mr Charles Guy Henshaw.

The non-executive Directors as at the date hereof are: Mr Ning Gao Ning, Mr Jiang Wei, Mr Li Fu Zuo, Mr Wu Jun, Mr Huang Zhi Jian and Mr Sinn Chung Ming, Anthony.

The independent non-executive Directors as at the date hereof are: Mr Chen Kwan Yiu, Edward, Mr Ma Chiu Cheung, Andrew and Mr Henry Tan.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in the (South China Morning Post)