

中國石化北京燕化石油化工股份有限公司 Sinopec Beijing Yanhua Petrochemical Company Limited

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China) (Stock Code: 325)

CHANGE IN DIRECTORSHIP

The board of directors (the "Board") of Sinopec Beijing Yanhua Petrochemical Company Limited (the "Company") hereby announces that Mr. Du Guosheng has resigned as Executive Director and Chairman of the Company with effect from 10 July 2004 due to change of job duties. Mr. Wang Yongjian, a Non-Executive Director, has been re-designated as Executive Director and will assume the role of Chairman of the Company with effect from 10 July 2004. Mr. Du confirmed that there is no disagreement with the Board and that there is no matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

Mr. Wang Yongjian, aged 44, joined Sinopec Group Beijing Yanshan Petrochemical Company Limited ("Yanshan Company") in 1982 and has served in various capacities including Director of Chemical Product Unit and General Manager of Yanshan Company. Mr. Wang graduated from the East China Petroleum Institute and has a Masters in Business Administration degree from Dalian University of Science and Technology.

Mr. Wang has not entered into any service contract with the Company and was elected to be a Director at general meeting of the Company in accordance with the Company's Articles of Association. His current term of office will expire in June 2006. Mr. Wang will be entitled to receive a director's emolument as determined by the Board from time to time and subject to approval by the shareholders at general meeting. As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Wang is independent of and not connected with the promoters, directors, supervisors, chief executive, substantial shareholders of the Company or their respective associates (within the meaning of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited) and does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. Du for his contribution to the Company during his service with the Company.

By Order of the Board **Zhou Quansheng**Company Secretary

10 July 2004

Beijing, the People's Republic of China

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in the South China Morning Post.

As at the date of the announcement, the Board of Directors comprises of the following:

Executive Directors: Mr. Wang Yongjian (Chairman), Mr. Yang Qingyu (Vice-chairman), Mr. Xu Hongxing Non-executive Directors: Mr. Wang Yuying, Mr. Wang Ruihua, Mr. Cui Guoqi, Mr. Xiang Hanyin Independent non-executive Directors: Mr. Zhang Yanning, Mr. Liu Haiyan, Mr. Yang Xuefeng