

哈爾湾啤酒集團有限な司 HARBIN BREWERY GROUP LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 0249)

APPOINTMENT OF ADDITIONAL DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of Harbin Brewery Group Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr William J. Kimmins, Jr. has been appointed as an additional non-executive director of the Company with effect from 13 August 2004.

Mr William J. Kimmins, Jr., aged 51, is the Vice President and Treasurer of Anheuser-Busch Companies, Inc. Mr Kimmins has 23 years of experience with Anheuser-Busch Companies, Inc., primarily in the Treasurer Group. He holds a bachelor of science degree in Business from the State University of New York and a Masters of Business Administration from Harvard Business School.

There is no service contract entered into between the Company and Mr Kimmins, and his appointment is not for any specific length of service with the Company (except that he is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election pursuant to the Company's articles of association).

Mr Kimmins does not receive any remuneration for his role as director of the Company.

Other than as representative of Anheuser-Busch Companies, Inc., Mr Kimmins is not connected with any directors of the Company, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company, and he has no interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong). Apart from as set out in this announcement, Mr Kimmins has not been a director of a listed public company in the past three years. The Board is not aware of any other matters that it considers necessary to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in relation to the appointment of Mr Kimmins as a non-executive director of the Company.

The Board takes this opportunity to welcome Mr Kimmins and believes that Mr Kimmins will make valuable contributions to the development of the Company.

By Order of the Board
Harbin Brewery Group Limited
LAM Pong Sui
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 13 August 2004

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors are: Messrs. Li Wentao, Lo Peter, Fu Hui, Au Peter Jeva and Bao Liusuo; the non-executive directors are: Messrs. Larry D. Baumann, Stephen J. Burrows; YanJun Cheng, Cheng Yeh-Ran, Alex Ten Young Chiu, John S. Koykka, Chester Lai, Samuel X. Zhang and William J. Kimmins, Jr.; the independent non-executive directors are: Dr Sit Fung Shuen Victor and Mr Sam Zuchowski.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard.