

CHINA RESOURCES PEOPLES TELEPHONE COMPANY LIMITED

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)

(Stock Code: 331)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors of China Resources Peoples Telephone Company Limited ("the Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Lam Kwong Yu has been appointed as Independent Non-executive Director of the Company with effect from 24 August 2004.

Mr. Lam, aged 60, is specialized in air transportation and civil aviation management. Mr. Lam is a recipient of a Silver Bauhinia Star Award by the Hong Kong SAR on 1 July 2004. Mr. Lam has extensive experience in policy formulation, project implementation, resources management, business strategy development, liaison and co-ordination.

Mr. Lam has been an Executive Director of Lei Shing Hong Limited (Stock Code:238) since 4 August 2004.

There is no service contract between the Company and Mr. Lam. His emoluments are determined by reference to his duties and responsibilities with the Company, the Company's performance and profitability, the Company's remuneration policy and the market benchmark.

In the last three years, Mr. Lam has not held any positions with the Company or other members of the Company's group. Mr. Lam does not have any relationships with any other directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. As at the date hereof, Mr. Lam has interest in 122,000 shares of the company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. Mr. Lam also does not have any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of holders of securities of the Company.

The Board would like to express its warm welcome to Mr. Lam on his appointment.

By Order of the Board
China Resources Peoples Telephone Company Limited
Kong Kin Sing, James
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 24 August 2004

The Executive Directors as at the date hereof are:

Mr Leung Kai Hung, Michael, Ms Leung Ka On, Charlotte, Mr Wong Man Kwan, Willie and Mr Charles Guy Henshaw.

The Non-executive Directors as at the date hereof are:

Mr Ning Gao Ning, Mr Jiang Wei, Mr Li Fu Zuo, Mr Wu Jun, Dr Huang Zhi Jian and Mr Sinn Chung Ming, Anthony.

The Independent Non-executive Directors as at the date hereof are: Professor Chen Kwan Yiu, Edward, Mr Ma Chiu Cheung, Andrew, Mr Henry Tan and Mr Lam Kwong Yu

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in the South China Morning Post"