

Symbol of Quality Logistics Services

BALTRANS HOLDINGS LIMITED

(incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 562)

APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of BALtrans Holdings Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Naruyuki Sado ("Mr. Sado") has been appointed as a non-executive director of the Company and an audit committee member with effect from 7 February 2006.

Mr. Sado, aged 44, has over 20 years of experience in the transport and logistics business. Mr. Sado is currently the General Manager, Global Network Business Department, Logistics Business Division, Mitsui & Co., Ltd. ("Mitsui"), a substantial shareholder of the Company. He holds a Bachelor Degree of Arts (major in Economics) from the University of Tokyo.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Sado does not have any interest in the shares of the Company and/or its associated corporations. Saved as being an employee of Mitsui, he is not connected with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Mr. Sado does not hold any directorship in any listed company in the last 3 years and has not previously held any position with the Company or any of its subsidiaries. The Company is not aware of any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholder of the Company in relation to Mr. Sado's appointment.

Mr. Sado will receive an annual director's fee of HK\$100,000. He has no fixed term of service with the Company but will be subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at annual general meetings of the Company in accordance with the Bye-Laws of the Company.

By Order of the Board **Lau Siu Wing Anthony** *Chairman*

Hong Kong, 7 February 2006

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises two executive directors: Mr. Lau Siu Wing Anthony and Mr. Ng Hooi Chong; four non-executive directors: Mr. Wai Chung Hung David, Mr. William Hugh Purton Bird, Mr. Christopher John David Clarke and Mr. Naruyuki Sado; and three independent non-executive directors: Mr. Yu Hon To David, Ms. Lau Kin Yee Miriam and Mr. Ng Cheung Shing.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in South China Morning Post"