The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) (Stock Code: 562)

## **DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR**

The Company has made an application to the Stock Exchange for an extension of time for the despatch of the Circular to a date falling on or before 2nd March, 2006.

Reference is made to the announcement issued by BALtrans Holdings Limited (the "Company") dated 18th January, 2006 in relation to continuing connected transactions of the Company (the "Announcement"). Terms defined in the Announcement shall have the same meaning when used herein unless the context otherwise requires.

Pursuant to Rule 14A.49 of the Listing Rules, the Company is required to despatch a circular (the "Circular") in relation to the matters disclosed in the Announcement to the Shareholders within 21 days after the publication of the Announcement, which is on or before 9th February, 2006.

In light of the public holidays of the Lunar New Year, additional time is required to finalise the letter of advice with the Independent Financial Adviser in relation to the Continuing Connected Transactions for inclusion in the Circular. Accordingly, the Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for a waiver from strict compliance with Rule 14A.49 of the Listing Rules to postpone the despatch of the Circular to a date falling on or before 2nd March, 2006.

By Order of the Board Lau Siu Wing Anthony Chairman

Hong Kong, 9th February, 2006

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company comprise Mr. Lau Siu Wing Anthony and Mr. Ng Hooi Chong; non-executive directors comprise Mr. William Hugh Purton Bird, Mr. Christopher John David Clarke, Mr. Wai Chung Hung David and Mr. Naruyuki Sado; and independent non-executive directors comprise Mr. Yu Hon To David, Ms. Lau Kin Yee Miriam and Mr. Ng Cheung Shing.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in the South China Morning Post"