Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

SHAW BROTHERS (HONG KONG) LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 00080)

CLOSURE OF REGISTER OF MEMBERS

Reference is made to the announcement dated 2 February 2009 issued jointly by the Company and the Offeror (the "**Joint Announcement**") in relation to the despatch of the composite document relating to the Proposal. Unless the context otherwise requires, terms defined in the Joint Announcement shall have the same meanings when used herein. All references in this announcement to times and dates are references to Hong Kong times and dates.

For the purpose of determining (i) the Minority Shareholders who are entitled to attend and vote at the Court Meeting and (ii) the Shareholders who are entitled to attend and vote at the EGM, the register of members of the Company will be closed from Friday, 20 February 2009 to Friday, 27 February 2009 (both dates inclusive). During such period, no transfer of Shares will be effected. In order to qualify to vote at the Court Meeting or the EGM, all transfers accompanied by the relevant share certificates (if applicable) must be lodged with the Company's share registrar, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited at Shops 1712-1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, not later than 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, 19 February 2009.

> By Order of the Board Jeremiah Rajakulendran Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 3rd February 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises the following Directors:

Executive Directors :

Sir Run Run Shaw, GBM (Executive Chairman) Mona Fong (Deputy Chairperson and Managing Director) Jeremiah Rajakulendran

Independent Non-executive Directors :

Dr. Chow Yei Ching Ng Julie Yuk Shun Nelson Hon Sang Chiu