Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liabilities whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock code: 2899)

PROPOSED FINAL DIVIDEND AND WITHHOLDING AND PAYMENT OF ENTERPRISE INCOME TAX FOR NON-RESIDENT ENTERPRISE SHAREHOLDERS IN RESPECT OF 2008 FINAL DIVIDEND

Reference is made to the 2008 results announcement dated 20 March 2009 of Zijin Mining Group Co., Ltd.* (the "Company") which, among other things, mentioned the proposed final dividends.

Pursuant to the "Enterprise Income Tax Law of the People's Republic of China" and the "Detailed Rules for the Implementation of the Enterprise Income Tax Law of the People's Republic of China" (the "Tax Law"), both implemented in 2008, beginning from 1 January 2008, any Chinese domestic enterprise which pays dividend to a non-resident enterprise shareholder in respect of accounting periods beginning from 1 January 2008 shall withhold and pay enterprise income tax for such shareholder.

On 20 March 2009, the board of directors (the "Board") of the Company proposed to pay qualified shareholders of the Company the final dividend for the year ended 31 December 2008 of RMB0.10 per share (tax included) (the "2008 Final Dividend"). The 2008 Final Dividend is subject to the approval at the annual general meeting of the Company to be held on Friday, 15 May 2009.

For the distribution of dividends, dividends for holders of domestic shares will be distributed and paid in RMB, while dividends for H-shares will be declared in RMB but paid in Hong Kong dollars. In order to avoid any delay of dividends payment caused by the withholding and payment of enterprise income tax, the conversion of RMB into HK\$ shall be calculated on the average price of the medium prices of the conversion of RMB into HK\$ announced by The People's Bank of China 5 working days preceding Wednesday, 15 April 2009, being the date of the closure of H-shares holders register. (Please note that the above-mentioned arrangement of the conversion of RMB into HK\$ supersedes the arrangement announced in the 2008 results announcement dated 20 March 2009)

In order to determine the holders of H-shares who are entitled to receive 2008 Final Dividend, the Company's register of holders of H-shares will be closed from Wednesday, 15 April 2009 to Friday, 15 May 2009, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of H-shares will be effected. Holders of H-shares of the Company who wish to receive 2008 Final Dividend must deposit the transfer documents together with the share certificates at the H-share registrar of the Company, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, at or before 4:30p.m. on Tuesday, 14 April 2009. The address of the share registrar Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited is Shops 1712–1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong. The last trading day of the Company's H-shares before ex-dividend will be on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 and the ex-dividend shall start from Thursday, 9 April 2009. The 2008 Final Dividend will be paid to the shareholders whose names appear on the Company's register of holders of H-shares on Friday, 15 May, 2009 (the "Record Date"). The payment date will be announced after shareholders' approval obtained at the annual general meeting.

In accordance with the Tax Law and its relevant rules and regulations, the Company has an

obligation to withhold for payment the 10% enterprise income tax from the payment of the 2008 Final Dividend to shareholders who are non-resident enterprise (including HKSCC (Nominees) Limited) whose names are registered on the H-shares registers of members of the Company (the "Registers") as of the Record Date. The term "non-resident enterprise" when used in this announcement shall have the same meaning as defined under the Tax Law and its relevant rules and regulations.

If any resident enterprise (as defined in the Enterprise Income Tax Law) listed on the Company's register of holders of H-shares which is duly incorporated in the PRC or under the laws of a foreign country (or a region) but with a PRC-based de facto management body, does not desire to have the Company to withhold the said 10% enterprise income tax, it shall submit to Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited at or before 4:30p.m., Thursday, 30 April 2009 the related documents to confirm its resident enterprise status, including: 1. a legal opinion issued by a Mainland China qualified lawyer (inscribed with the seal of the applicable law firm); 2. together with duly certified true copies of the certificate of enterprise code for PRC enterprises (中華人民共和國組織機構代碼證) or equivalent documents issued by the relevant PRC governmental authorities certified by a Hong Kong solicitor or accountant, that establishes its resident enterprise status. The Company will also not withhold any individual income tax for natural person shareholders of H-shares listed on the Company's register of holders of H-shares on the Record Date.

Investors should read this announcement carefully. The Company has no obligation and will not be responsible for confirming the identities of any shareholders. The Company will withhold for payment the enterprise income tax, strictly in accordance with the Tax Law and its relevant rules and regulations, based on the information contained in the Registers on the Record Date. The Company will owe no liability whatsoever in respect of and will not entertain any claims arising from any delay in, or inaccurate determination of, the status of the shareholders or any disputes over the mechanism of withholding.

This announcement is made by the Company on voluntary basis.

By order of the Board Zijin Mining Group Co., Ltd.* Chen Jinghe Chairman

Fujian, the PRC, 27 March 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. Chen Jinghe (Chairman), Liu Xiaochu, Luo Yingnan, Lan Fusheng, Huang Xiaodong, and Zou Laichang as executive directors, Mr. Peng Jiaqing as non-executive director, and Messrs. Chen Yuchuan, Su Congfu, Lin Yongjing, and Loong Ping Kwan as independent non-executive directors.

*The Company's English name is for identification purpose only