Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



洛陽欒川鉬業集團股份有限公司 China Molybdenum Co., Ltd.*

(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 03993)

RELEASE OF PLEDGE OF SHARES BY CONTROLLING SHAREHOLDER

This announcement is made by China Molybdenum Co., Ltd.* (the "Company") pursuant to Rule 13.09(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571, Laws of Hong Kong).

References are made to the announcements of the Company dated 12 December 2012 and 25 September 2013 in relation to, among others, the pledge of 480,000,000 A shares of the Company (representing approximately 9.46% of the total share capital of the Company) by Cathay Fortune Corporation* (鴻商產業控股集團有限公司) ("CFC"), a controlling shareholder of the Company, in favour of Shenyin & Wanguo Securities Co., Ltd.* (申銀萬國證券股份有限公司) (the "Pledge").

On 17 January 2014, the Company received a notice from CFC that the Pledge was released on 16 January 2014.

As at the date of this announcement, CFC holds 1,726,706,322 A shares of the Company (representing approximately 34.02% of the total share capital of the Company) and 101,000,000 H shares of the Company (representing approximately 1.99% of the total share capital of the Company, through Cathay Fortune Investment Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of CFC). As at 17 January 2014, CFC has pledged a total number of 196,730,000 A shares of the Company (representing approximately 11.4% of its interests in the Company and approximately 3.88% of the total share capital of the Company).

By Order of the Board

China Molybdenum Co., Ltd.*

Li Chaochun

Chairman

Luoyang City, Henan Province, PRC, 17 January 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Li Chaochun, Mr. Li Faben, Mr. Wang Qinxi, Ms. Gu Meifeng and Mr. Wu Wenjun; the non-executive Directors are Messrs. Zhang Yufeng and Yuan Honglin; and the independent non-executive Directors are Messrs. Bai Yanchun, Xu Shan, Cheng Gordon and Xu Xu.

* for identification purposes only