Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## ADVANCED SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING CORPORATION LIMITED

上海先進半導體製造股份有限公司

(A foreign invested joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 03355)

## RESIGNATION OF DIRECTORS AND RESIGNATION OF SUPERVISOR

The Board announces that Mr. Steven Daryl FREZON will resign as a Non-executive Director and the member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee for the fifth session of the Board of the Company with effect from 10 June 2017.

Mr. Jesse Bright Riggs PARKER JR. will resign as an Independent Non-executive Director and the member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee, Nomination Committee and Remuneration Committee for the fifth session of the Board of the Company with effect from 20 June 2017.

Mr. Eric WANG will resign as a Supervisor and the Chairman of the Supervisory Committee for the fifth session of the Supervisory Committee of the Company with effect from 10 June 2017.

The board of directors (the "Board") of Advanced Semiconductor Manufacturing Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr. Steven Daryl FREZON ("Mr. FREZON") has recently notified the Company of his resignation as a Non-executive Director and the member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee for the fifth session of the Board of the Company with effect from 10 June 2017 in order to pursue other personal and business commitments. Mr. FREZON does not hold any other position with the Company.

Mr. FREZON has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and the Company, and there is no matter relating to his resignation which needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company (the "Shareholders").

The Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. FREZON for his service and contribution to the Company. Pursuant to the requirements of the Articles of Association of the Company, the Board shall be composed of eleven directors. The Board will propose a candidate for the Non-executive Director to fill the vacancy caused by Mr. FREZON's resignation for approval by the Shareholders in a general meeting in due course.

The Board also announces that Mr. Jesse Bright Riggs PARKER JR. ("Mr. PARKER") has recently notified the Company of his resignation as an Independent Non-executive Director, and the member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee, Nomination Committee and Remuneration Committee for the fifth session of the Board of the Company with effect from 20 June 2017 due to personal reasons. Mr. PARKER does not hold any other position with the Company.

Mr. PARKER has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and the Company, and there is no matter relating to his resignation which needs to be brought to the attention of the Shareholders.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. PARKER for his service and contribution to the Company.

Following the resignation of Mr. PARKER, the Company is unable to fulfill: (i) Rule 3.25 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("Listing Rules") which requires the majority of the Remuneration Committee to be Independent Non-executive Directors; and (ii) Code Provision A.5.1 of Corporate Governance Code to the Listing Rules which requires the majority of the Nomination Committee to be Independent Non-executive Directors.

The Company considers that the failure to meet the abovementioned requirements of the Listing Rules is temporary in nature and the Company will endeavor to select a suitable candidate to fill the vacancy caused by Mr. PARKER's resignation by seeking approval by the Shareholders in a general meeting as soon as practicable in respect of such appointment within three months from 20 June 2017 to meet the relevant requirements under the Listing Rules and the Articles of Association of the Company.

The Board further announces that Mr. Eric WANG ("Mr. WANG") has recently notified the Company of his resignation as a Supervisor and the Chairman of the Supervisory Committee for the fifth session of the Supervisory Committee of the Company with effect from 10 June 2017 in order to pursue other personal and business commitments. Mr. WANG does not hold any other position with the Company.

Mr. WANG has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board, the Supervisory Committee and the Company, and there is no matter relating to his resignation which needs to be brought to the attention of the Shareholders.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. WANG for his service and contribution to the Company. Pursuant to the requirements of the Articles of Association of the Company, the supervisory committee shall be composed of eight supervisors. The Board will propose a supervisor candidate to fill the vacancy caused by Mr. WANG's resignation for approval by the Shareholders in

a general meeting in due course.

## By order of the Board

## Advanced Semiconductor Manufacturing Corporation Limited ZHU Jian

Chairman

Shanghai, the PRC, 9 June 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive director of the Company is Hong Feng, the non-executive directors of the Company are Zhu Jian, David Damian French, Shen Qing, Steven Daryl Frezon, Kang Hui and Lu Ning; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Jesse Bright Riggs Parker Jr., Chen Enhua, Jiang Qingtang and Pu Hanhu.