Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



ASIA SATELLITE TELECOMMUNICATIONS HOLDINGS LIMITED

亞洲衛星控股有限公司* (Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) Stock Code: 1135

RESIGNATION OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

AND

CHANGE OF COMPOSITION OF COMPLIANCE COMMITTEE

The board of directors (the "Board") of Asia Satellite Telecommunications Holdings Limited (the "Company") announces the following changes of directorate with effect from 1 September 2018:

- Mr. Julius M. GENACHOWSKI has resigned from his offices as (i) a Non-executive Director; and (ii) a Member of the Compliance Committee of the Company.
- Mr. FAN Jui-Ying has been appointed as (i) a Non-executive Director; and (ii) a Member of the Compliance Committee of the Company.

Resignation of Non-executive Director

Mr. Genachowski has confirmed that his resignation is due to another business engagement within the Carlyle Group. He also confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there are no matters relating to his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to express its gratitude to Mr. Genachowski for his outstanding contributions to the Company during his tenure of service.

Appointment of Non-executive Director

Biographical detail of Mr. FAN Jui-Ying is set out as follows:

FAN Jui-Ying, aged 58, is a Venture Partner of WI Harper Group.

Mr. Fan brings extensive experience in operation, entrepreneurship, and investment across telecommunications, media, and technology industries. He led the successful transformation and sales of both Eastern Broadcasting Company, where he served as Chairman & President, and kbro Company Limited where he was Vice Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, for the Carlyle Group. Previously, Mr. Fan was the President and one of the founders of Taiwan Mobile and led the company to be the first telecommunication company publicly listed in Taiwan. Thereafter, he was appointed as President & Chief Executive Officer at Taiwan Fixed Networks and listed that company in Taiwan, which he was also one of the founders. Prior to this, Mr. Fan worked at Hutchison Whampao Group of Hong Kong, Yamada Corporation of Japan, and aerospace industries of the United States. Mr. Fan holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Southern California.

Mr. Fan has entered into an appointment letter with the Company pursuant to which his appointment as a Non-executive Director of the Company shall be for a term of three years with effect from 1 September 2018, subject to the Bye-laws of the Company. Pursuant to the Bye-laws of the Company, Mr. Fan shall hold office until the date of next annual general meeting of the Company at which he will be eligible to offer himself for re-election. Thereafter, he will be subject to retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the Company's Bye-laws. He is entitled to a director's fee of HK\$108,994 per annum under the relevant appointment letter. The amount of director's fee is determined with reference to his duties and responsibilities to the Company, the Company's remuneration policy and the prevailing market situation, and is subject to the approval of the shareholders of the Company at the next annual general meeting of the Company. With effect from 1 September 2018, Mr. Fan has also been appointed as a director of AsiaSat BVI Limited and Asia Satellite Telecommunications Company Limited.

Saved as disclosed above, Mr. Fan (i) is not related to any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company; (ii) has not held any directorship in public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas during the last three years; and (iii) has not held any other positions with the Company and subsidiaries of the Company at any time.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Fan does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other information relating to Mr. Fan to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Listing Rules and there is no other matter which needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to extend its warm welcome to Mr. Fan for joining the Board.

By order of the Board Sue YEUNG Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 31 August 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises 11 Directors. The Executive Director is Dr. Roger Shunhong TONG. The Non-executive Directors are Mr. Gregory M. ZELUCK (Chairman), Mr. JU Wei Min (Deputy Chairman), Mr. LUO Ning, Dr. DING Yucheng, Mr. Julius M. GENACHOWSKI and Mr. Herman CHANG Hsiuguo. The Independent Non-executive Directors are Mr. Marcel R. FENEZ, Mr. Steven R. LEONARD, Ms. Philana Wai Yin POON and Ms. Maura WONG Hung Hung. The Alternate Director is Mr. CHONG Chi Yeung (alternate to Mr. LUO Ning).

* for identification purpose only