Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

RESIGNATION OF CHAIRMAN AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that the Company was notified by the controlling shareholder of the Company, China Telecommunications Corporation, on 4 March 2019 that Mr. Yang Jie has resigned from his position as the Chairman of China Telecommunications Corporation and has been appointed as the Chairman of China Mobile Communications Group Co., Ltd..

Meanwhile, Mr. Yang Jie has resigned from his positions as the Executive Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Company with effect from 4 March 2019 due to change in work arrangement. Mr. Yang Jie has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the board of directors of the Company (the "Board") and did not have any matters in relation to his resignation that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Yang Jie for his outstanding contribution in the Company's transformation and upgrades as well as sustainable development during his tenure of office.

The Board and the Nomination Committee of the Company will review and discuss the corresponding adjustment to the composition of the Board. Further announcement(s) will be made by the Company in connection with the above as and when appropriate in accordance with the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Wong Yuk Har Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC, 4 March 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the president and chief operating officer), Mr. Gao Tongqing, Mr. Chen Zhongyue and Madam Zhu Min (as the chief financial officer) (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the independent non-executive directors).