Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(the "Bank")

(Stock Code: 3988 and 4601(Preference Shares))

ANNOUNCEMENT

Retirement of Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank

Mr. Lu Zhengfei has served as the Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank since 31 July 2013 after the approval of the Shareholders' Meeting of the Bank. According to the Articles of Association of the Bank and the requirement of the domestic regulatory authorities, an Independent Non-executive Director may serve no more than six years for the Bank. With effect from 1 August 2019, Mr. Lu Zhengfei ceased to serve as Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank, the Chairman and member of the Audit Committee, the Chairman and member of the Personnel and Remuneration Committee and the member of the Connected Transactions Control Committee of the Board of Directors of the Bank (the "**Board**").

Mr. Lu Zhengfei has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Board is grateful to Mr. Lu Zhengfei for his contributions to the Bank during his tenure of office.

The Board of Directors of Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 1 August 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Bank are: Liu Liange, Wu Fulin, Lin Jingzhen, Zhao Jie*, Xiao Lihong*, Wang Xiaoya*, Liao Qiang*, Zhang Jiangang*, Leung Cheuk Yan[#], Wang Changyun[#], Angela Chao[#] and Jiang Guohua[#].

* Non-executive Directors

[#] Independent Non-executive Directors