Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國工商銀行股份有限公司

INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

Stock Code: 1398
USD Preference Shares Stock Code: 4603
EUR Preference Shares Stock Code: 4604
RMB Preference Shares Stock Code: 84602

ANNOUNCEMENT ON THE APPROVAL OF THE QUALIFICATION OF DIRECTOR BY THE CBIRC

The Annual General Meeting of 2018 of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "Bank") held on 20 June 2019 elected Mr. Lu Yongzhen as Non-executive Director of the Bank. The Bank has recently received the "China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission's Approval in relation to the Qualification of Lu Yongzhen of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China" (Yin Bao Jian Fu [2019] No. 768). Pursuant to the relevant requirements, the qualification of Mr. Lu Yongzhen as Non-executive Director of the Bank has been approved by the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (the "CBIRC"). The appointment of Mr. Lu Yongzhen as Non-executive Director has become effective. The Bank would like to welcome Mr. Lu Yongzhen as a member of the board of directors of the Bank.

Please refer to the supplemental circular of the Bank dated 3 June 2019 for the biography of Mr. Lu Yongzhen. Save as disclosed herein, there are no other matters relating to the appointment of Mr. Lu Yongzhen that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders and creditors of the Bank nor is there any information to be disclosed pursuant to other regulatory requirements.

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 19 August 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. CHEN Siqing, Mr. GU Shu, Mr. HU Hao and Mr. TAN Jiong as executive directors, Mr. ZHENG Fuqing, Ms. MEI Yingchun, Mr. DONG Shi, Mr. YE Donghai and Mr. LU Yongzhen as non-executive directors, Mr. Anthony Francis NEOH, Mr. YANG Siu Shun, Ms. Sheila Colleen BAIR, Mr. SHEN Si, Mr. Nout WELLINK and Mr. Fred Zuliu HU as independent non-executive directors.