Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國光大銀行股份有限公司

China Everbright Bank Company Limited

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock code: 6818)

PROPOSED APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of Directors (the "**Board**") of the China Everbright Bank Company Limited (the "**Company**") hereby announced, a resolution had been passed at the Board meeting held on 4 November 2019, Mr. Wu Lijun ("**Mr. Wu**") is hereby nominated as the candidate for the position of non-executive director of the Company, and his appointment is subject to the consideration and approvals at the general meeting of the Company and the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission ("**CBIRC**"). Mr. Wu Lijun's term of office will commence on the date when the approval of CBIRC is obtained. A circular which includes, among other things, the information in relation to the matters and the notice of general meeting will be dispatched to the shareholders as soon as practicable.

The biographical details of Mr. Wu is set out below:

Mr. Wu Lijun, aged 55, is currently the deputy secretary of CPC Committee, deputy chairman¹ and general manager of China Everbright Group Ltd. He served as the deputy director (deputy bureau level) of the State Material Reserve Regulatory Center of the Ministry of Domestic Trade, person in charge of the Information Center and deputy director (presiding) of the Training Center of the China Securities Regulatory Commission, director of the Ministry of Personnel Education, director of the Organization Department of the CPC Committee. He also served as the member of the Party Committee and assistant chairman of the China Securities Regulatory Commission, the Chairman of the Board of the Shenzhen Stock Exchange and Party Secretary (Deputy Minister). He obtained a doctorate degree in economics from Renmin University of China. He is a senior economist.

Save as disclosed in the above biography, Mr. Wu has not held other directorships in any other listed companies in the last three years, he does not have any relationship with any other Directors, senior management or substantial or controlling Shareholders of the Company, nor does he has any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

¹ Corporate governance procedures to be performed by deputy chairman

In accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company, the term of a director is three years, and the director is eligible for re-election upon expiry of the term. Mr. Wu will not receive any Director's fees.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company or to be disclosed pursuant to Rules 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited in relation to the aforesaid matters.

The Board would like to express its warm welcome to Mr. Wu to the Board.

On behalf of the Board China Everbright Bank Company Limited LI Xiaopeng Chairman

Beijing, the PRC 4 November 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Director of the Company is Mr. Lu Hong; the Non-executive Directors are Mr. Li Xiaopeng, Mr. Cai Yunge, Mr. Wang Xiaolin, Mr. Shi Yongyan, Mr. Dou Hongquan and Mr. He Haibin; and the Independent Non-executive Directors are Ms. Fok Oi Ling Catherine, Mr. Xu Hongcai, Mr. Feng Lun, Mr. Wang Liguo, Mr. Shao Ruiqing and Mr. Hong Yongmiao.