Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 03328, 4605 (Preference Share))

NOTICE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the extraordinary general meeting (the "**EGM**") of Bank of Communications Co., Ltd. (the "**Bank**") will be held at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai, No. 2288 Pudong Avenue, Shanghai, the PRC at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, 10 March 2020, for the purpose of passing the following resolutions:

As Ordinary Resolutions

- 1. To consider and, if thought fit, to approve the remuneration plan of the directors of the Bank for the year 2018.
- 2. To consider and, if thought fit, to approve the remuneration plan of the supervisors of the Bank for the year 2018.

As Special Resolution

3. To consider and, if thought fit, to approve the proposal in relation to the issuance of undated capital bonds.

As Ordinary Resolutions

- 4. To consider and, if thought fit, to approve the proposal in relation to the capital increase to Bank of Communications (Hong Kong) Limited.
- 5. To consider and, if thought fit, to approve the appointment of Mr. Li Longcheng as a non-executive director of the Bank.

6. To consider and, if thought fit, to approve the appointment of Mr. Zhang Minsheng as a shareholder supervisor of the Bank.

By order of the Board of Bank of Communications Co., Ltd. Gu Sheng Company Secretary

Shanghai, the PRC 22 January 2020

Notes:

1. Closure of register of members for H shares and eligibilities for attending the EGM

The shareholders whose names appear on the register of members for H shares of the Bank at the close of business on Friday, 7 February 2020 are entitled to attend the EGM with their passports or other identity papers.

The register of members for H shares of the Bank will be closed from Saturday, 8 February 2020 to Monday, 10 March 2020 (both days inclusive), during which time no transfer of the H shares will be registered.

Holders of the H shares intending to attend the EGM shall lodge all the transfer documents for H shares together with the relevant share certificates with Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the H share registrar and transfer office of the Bank in Hong Kong, at Rooms 1712-1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, no later than 4:30 p.m. on Friday, 7 February 2020.

2. Proxy

Shareholders entitled to attend and vote at the EGM may appoint one or more proxies to attend and vote in their stead. A proxy need not be a shareholder of the Bank.

A proxy of a shareholder who has appointed more than one proxy may only vote on a poll in respect of the shares actually held. The instrument appointing a proxy must be in writing under the hand of the appointer or his/her attorney duly authorized in writing. If the shareholder is a corporate body, the proxy form must be either executed under its common seal or under the hand of its director(s) or duly authorised attorney(s). If that instrument is signed by an attorney of the appointer, the power of attorney authorising that attorney to sign, or other documents of authorisation, must be notarially certified.

To be valid, the notarially certified power of attorney, or other documents of authorisation, and the proxy form must be delivered to the Bank's share registrar by hand, post or fax as soon as possible and in any event not less than 24 hours before the time appointed for the EGM or any adjournment thereof. The Bank's share registrar is Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, whose address is 17M Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong (Tel: (852) 2862 8555, Fax: (852) 2865 0990).

3. Reply slip

Shareholders intending to attend the EGM should return the reply slip (which will be despatched to the shareholders together with this notice) to the Board Office of the Bank or Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited on or before Tuesday, 18 February 2020 by hand, post or fax. Failure to return the reply slip will not affect a shareholder's right to attend the EGM or any adjournment thereof in person. The Board Office of the Bank is located at No. 188 Yincheng Zhong Lu, Pudong New District, Shanghai, the PRC (Tel: (8621) 5876 6688, Fax: (8621) 5879 8398, Postcode: 200120). The contact persons are Mr. Pan and Mr. Yang. The address of Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited is 17M Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong (Tel: (852) 2862 8555, Fax: (852) 2865 0990).

4. Method of voting at the EGM

According to Rule 13.39(4) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, any vote of shareholders at a general meeting must be taken by way of poll. Accordingly, the chairman of the EGM will demand a poll in relation to the proposed resolutions at the EGM.

5. Other issues

The EGM (on-site meeting) is expected to last for half a day. Shareholders (in person or by proxy) attending the EGM shall be responsible for their own travelling and accommodation expenses. Shareholders or their proxies attending the EGM shall produce their identity documents and the authorisation documents mentioned above. A photocopy of such identity documents and authorization documents should also be provided. For photocopies of documents for an individual shareholder, the photocopies shall be signed by the individual. For photocopies of documents for a corporate shareholder, the photocopies shall be stamped with the Bank chop.

As at the date of this notice, the directors of the Bank are Mr. Ren Deqi, Mr. Hou Weidong, Mr. Wang Taiyin*, Mr. Song Guobin*, Mr. He Zhaobin*, Mr. Chan Siu Chung*, Mr. Song Hongjun*, Mr. Chen Junkui*, Mr. Liu Haoyang*, Ms. Li Jian[#], Mr. Liu Li[#], Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason[#], Mr. Woo Chin Wan, Raymond[#], Mr. Cai Haoyi[#] and Mr. Shi Lei[#].

- * Non-executive directors
- [#] Independent non-executive directors