Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1288)

NOMINATION OF DIRECTOR

A meeting (the "Meeting") of the board of directors (the "Board") of Agricultural Bank of China Limited (the "Bank") was held on-site in Beijing on 29 May 2020. 14 directors were entitled to attend and all of them attended the Meeting. The Meeting was convened in compliance with the applicable laws and regulations, the articles of association of the Bank and the rules of procedure of the Board.

Mr. ZHOU Mubing, the Chairman of the Board, presided over the Meeting. The Board considered and approved the following proposal at the Meeting:

Nomination of Mr. ZHANG Xuguang as an Executive Director of the Bank

Voting result: 14 valid votes, including 14 votes in favour, 0 vote against and 0 vote abstained.

Opinions of the independent non-executive directors of the Bank with regard to this proposal: agreed.

The Board resolved to nominate Mr. ZHANG Xuguang as an executive director of the Bank, subject to the consideration and approval by the shareholders' general meeting of the Bank and the ratification of his qualification by the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (the "CBIRC"). His term of office as a director shall be three years, commencing upon the ratification of his qualification by the CBIRC.

The biographical details of Mr. ZHANG Xuguang are set out below:

Mr. ZHANG Xuguang, born in October 1964, received a master's degree in law from Peking University and a master's degree in law from Minnesota State University in the United States, and is a senior economist. He has served as an executive vice president of Agricultural Bank of China Limited since December 2019. He worked for China National Aero-Technology Import & Export Corporation. In addition, Mr. ZHANG previously served as the vice president of Tianjin branch and the deputy general director of the Executive Office, and the president of the Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region branch of the China Development Bank. Mr. ZHANG also served as the president of China Development Bank Capital Co., Ltd. and the investment director of China

Development Bank. In December 2013, he was appointed as an executive vice president of China Development Bank.

Mr. ZHANG Xuguang will not receive any director's fee from the Bank during his term. He will receive remuneration based on his management positions with the Bank, including salary, bonus and contributions to all kinds of social insurance and housing fund payable by the Bank. The remuneration of directors to be paid by the Bank will be disclosed in the annual report each year.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. ZHANG Xuguang did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies or take up any post in any affiliated companies of the Bank in the past three years, nor has any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Bank. Furthermore, Mr. ZHANG Xuguang does not have any equity interest in the Bank within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the nomination of Mr. ZHANG Xuguang as an executive director that shall be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Board of Directors of Agricultural Bank of China Limited

Beijing, the PRC 29 May 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors are Mr. ZHOU Mubing, Mr. ZHANG Qingsong and Ms. ZHANG Keqiu; the non-executive directors are Mr. XU Jiandong, Mr. CHEN Jianbo, Mr. LIAO Luming, Mr. LI Qiyun, Mr. LI Wei and Mr. WU Jiangtao; and the independent non-executive directors are Ms. XIAO Xing, Mr. WANG Xinxin, Mr. HUANG Zhenzhong, Ms. LEUNG KO May Yee, Margaret and Mr. LIU Shouying.