Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國太平保險控股有限公司

China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited
(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 966)

ANNOUNCEMENT ON RESIGNATION OF CHAIRMAN

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr. LUO Xi ("Mr. LUO"), due to work arrangements, has resigned as the chairman, an executive director, a member of the remuneration committee, the chairman of the nomination committee and the chairman of the corporate governance committee of the Company with effect from 24 September 2020. Mr. LUO has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

During Mr. LUO's tenure as the chairman of the Company, he was dedicated and diligent, always strived for reform and innovation, in the face of obstacles, he has shown his leadership to direct the whole group of cadre staff to overcome difficulties with the heart of endurance, and adhered to "Meeting the Country's need as Taiping's direction". By serving the real economy and sharing the deeply rooted concept of "Taiping for Your Peaceful Life", the development strategy of the new era which has yet to record in the history of China Taiping has been gradually implemented which portrayed as a new chapter of China Taiping. The Company would like to extend its warmest gratitude to Mr. LUO.

Following the resignation of Mr. LUO, the Company is unable to fully comply with the requirements of Code Provision A.5.1 of the Corporate Governance Code of Appendix 14 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited that the nomination committee should be chaired by the chairman of the board or an independent non-executive director. The Company is endeavoring to identify a suitable candidate to fill up the vacancy of the chairman of the nomination committee of the Company as soon as practicable, and will make further announcement(s) as and when appropriate.

By Order of the Board of

China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited

Company Secretary

ZHANG Ruohan

Hong Kong, 24 September 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises 11 directors, of which Mr. WANG Sidong, Mr. HONG Bo and Mr. XIAO Xing are executive directors, Mr. GUO Zhaoxu, Mr. HU Xingguo, Ms. ZHANG Cui and Mr. YANG Changgui are non-executive directors, and Dr. WU Jiesi, Mr. ZHU Dajian, Mr. WU Ting Yuk Anthony and Mr. XIE Zhichun are independent non-executive directors.