Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 01898)

RESIGNATION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD

The board (the "Board") of directors ("Directors") of China Coal Energy Company Limited (the "Company") hereby announces that due to retirement, Mr. Li Yanjiang has tendered his resignation as chairman of the Board, executive Director, chairman of the Strategic Planning Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee of the Board on 2 March 2021 with immediate effect.

According to the Articles of Association of the Company, Mr. Peng Yi, vice chairman of the Board, will temporarily perform the duties of chairman of the Company until the election of the new chairman by the Board.

Mr. Li Yanjiang has no disagreement with the Board and there are no other matters in respect of his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

Mr. Li Yanjiang has always been diligent and committed to his duties, and he has played an important role and made outstanding contributions in many aspects during his tenure of office. The Board would like to hereby express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Li Yanjiang for his valuable contributions to the Company during his tenure of office.

The Company will complete the appointment procedures and relevant follow-up work to fill the vacancies due to the resignation of Mr. Li Yanjiang as soon as practicable.

By Order of the Board
China Coal Energy Company Limited
Peng Yi
Vice Chairman of the Board, Executive

Director

Beijing, the PRC 3 March 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the executive director of the Company is Peng Yi; the non-executive directors of the Company are Du Ji'an, Zhao Rongzhe and Xu Qian; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Zhang Ke, Zhang Chengjie and Leung Chong Shun.

* For identification purpose only