Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation 中芯國際集成電路製造有限公司* *(incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)* (Stock Code: 981)

RESIGNATION OF VICE CHAIRMAN, EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS, NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHANGE OF MEMBERS OF THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE

The board of directors (the **"Board"**) of Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation (the **"Company"**, together with its subsidiaries, the **"Group"**) announces that:

I. RESIGNATION OF VICE CHAIRMAN, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MEMBER OF THE STRATEGIC COMMITTEE

Dr. Chiang Shang-Yi ("**Dr. Chiang**") has resigned as the Vice Chairman of the Board, an executive director of the Company (the "**Director**") and a member of the strategic committee of the Board with effect from 11 November 2021 in order to spend more time with his family.

Dr. Chiang has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there is no matter in relation to his resignation as the Vice Chairman of the Board and an executive Director that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

II. RESIGNATION OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Dr. Liang Mong Song ("**Dr. Liang**"), an executive Director and the Co-Chief Executive Officer of the Company has resigned as an executive Director with effect from 11 November 2021 in order to focus on discharging his duties as the Co-Chief Executive Officer of the Company. Dr. Liang will continue to serve as the Co-Chief Executive Officer of the aforementioned resignation.

Dr. Liang has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there is no matter in relation to his resignation as an executive Director that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

III. RESIGNATION OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, MEMBER OF THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND MEMBER OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE

Mr. Zhou Jie ("**Mr. Zhou**"), has resigned as a non-executive Director, a member of the compensation committee of the Board (the "**Compensation Committee**") and a member of the audit committee of the Board (the "**Audit Committee**") with effect from 11 November 2021 due to his work commitments.

Mr. Zhou has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there is no matter in relation to his resignation as a non-executive Director that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

IV. RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MEMBER OF THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE

Dr. Young Kwang Leei ("**Dr. Young**"), has resigned as an independent non-executive Director and a member of the Compensation Committee with effect from 11 November 2021 in order to focus on his other business matters.

Dr. Young has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there is no matter in relation to his resignation as an independent non-executive Director that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

V. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE

Mr. Fan Ren Da Anthony and Dr. Liu Ming, the independent non-executive Directors, have been appointed as members of the Compensation Committee with effect from 11 November 2021.

Professor Lau Lawrence Juen-Yee, an independent non-executive Director, has been appointed as a member of the Audit Committee with effect from 11 November 2021.

The above changes do not have any material impact on the Company's operation. The Board would like to take this opportunity to express its gratitude to Dr. Chiang, Dr. Liang, Mr. Zhou and Dr. Young for their valuable contributions to the Board.

This announcement is made pursuant to the Inside Information Provisions under Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong) and Rules 13.09 and 13.51(2) of the Hong Kong Listing Rules.

By order of the Board Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation Guo Guangli Board Secretary and Joint Company Secretary

Shanghai, PRC 11 November 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are:

Executive Directors

GAO Yonggang (*Acting Chairman and Chief Financial Officer*) ZHOU Zixue ZHAO Haijun (*Co-Chief Executive Officer*)

Non-executive Directors

LU Guoqing CHEN Shanzhi HUANG Dengshan REN Kai

Independent Non-executive Directors William Tudor BROWN LAU Lawrence Juen-Yee FAN Ren Da Anthony LIU Ming

* For identification purposes only