

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS LIMITED

國泰航空有限公司 (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 293)

Deferral of Dividend payable on the Preference Shares

Reference is made to the announcement dated 9 June 2020 (the "**Announcement**") in relation to, amongst others, the Preference Shares issued by Cathay Pacific Airways Limited (the "**Company**") and the announcements dated 9 February 2021, 9 August 2021 and 9 February 2022 in relation to the deferral of dividend payable on the Preference Shares. Unless otherwise defined herein, capitalised terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the Announcement.

The Board announces that, with respect to the dividend which is due to be payable to the holder of the Preference Shares on 12 August 2022, it has resolved to defer the payment of such dividend. The terms of the Preference Shares, which are set out in the articles of association of the Company, provide that any dividends on the Preference Shares which are deferred shall accumulate and constitute arrears (and that such arrears shall be entitled to dividends at the prevailing dividend rate). The terms further provide that, for as long as such arrears are outstanding, the Company shall not distribute any dividend on, nor buy-back any of, its ordinary shares.

As at the date of this announcement, the Directors of the Company are:

Executive Directors: Patrick Healy (Chairman), Gregory Hughes, Ronald Lam, Rebecca Sharpe, Augustus Tang;

Non-Executive Directors: Guy Bradley, Ma Chongxian, Song Zhiyong, Sun Yuquan, Merlin Swire, Samuel Swire, Xiao Feng, Zhang Zhuo Ping;

Independent Non-Executive Directors: Bernard Chan, John Harrison, Christoph Mueller and Andrew Tung.

By Order of the Board CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS LIMITED 國泰航空有限公司 Joanna Lai Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 9 August 2022