Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



Established 1886

## WHARF REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT COMPANY LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) Stock Code: 1997

## **APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR**

Wharf Real Estate Investment Company Limited (the "**Company**") is pleased to announce the appointment of Ms. Lai Yuen CHIANG ("**Ms. CHIANG**") as an additional Independent Non-executive Director of the Company effective from 1 October 2022.

Ms. Chiang, *JP*, aged 57, graduated from Wellesley College in the United States with a Bachelor of Arts degree. She is currently the chairman and chief executive officer of Chen Hsong Holdings Limited and an independent non-executive director of Hang Seng Bank Limited, both publicly listed in Hong Kong.

Ms. Chiang is a member of the Twelfth Guangdong Provincial Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference and a member of Advisory Council on Food and Environmental Hygiene of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ("**HKSAR**"). She is also a vice-president of China Plastics Machinery Industry Association, vice-chairman of the Federation of Shenzhen Industries, vice-president of China Shenzhen Machinery Association and vice-president of the Toys Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong. Ms. Chiang had served as a standing committee member of the Shenzhen Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference during 2000 to 2021. She was awarded the "Young Industrialist Awards of Hong Kong" by the Federation of Hong Kong Industries in 2004. Ms. Chiang has been appointed as Justice of the Peace by the Government of the HKSAR in 2012.

Save as disclosed above, Ms. Chiang does not presently and did not in the past three years hold any directorship in any other listed public company; she does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or any substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company; and she does not have any interest in the securities of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. Ms. Chiang will receive from the Company a director's fee at the rate of HK\$250,000 per annum, which is in line with that payable to other directors (other than the Chairman) of the Company. Upon the appointment of Ms. Chiang becoming effective, no service contract would exist between her and the Company as well as its subsidiaries (the "**Group**"), and therefore no emolument will be payable to her by the Group apart from the abovementioned director's fee.

To the best knowledge of the Directors of the Company, in relation to the appointment of Ms. Chiang, there is no information which is discloseable nor has she ever been involved in any of the matters required to be disclosed pursuant to any of the requirements of the provisions under paragraphs 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Listing Rules**"), and there is no other matter requiring to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. Ms. Chiang has confirmed to the Company that she meets the independence criteria as set out in rule 3.13 of the Listing Rules.

In accordance with the provisions of the Company's articles of association, Ms. Chiang will hold office until she retires from the board of Directors of the Company (the "**Board**") at the Annual General Meeting of the Company to be held in or about May 2023.

For WHARF REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT COMPANY LIMITED Kevin C. Y. Hui Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 29 September 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Stephen T. H. Ng, Mr. Paul Y. C. Tsui, Ms. Y. T. Leng and Mr. Horace W. C. Lee, together with seven Independent Non-executive Directors, namely Mr. Alexander S. K. Au, Mr. Tak Hay Chau, Hon. Andrew K. Y. Leung, Mr. Desmond L. P. Liu, Mr. R. Gareth Williams, Dr. Glenn S. Yee and Professor E. K. Yeoh.