Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 371)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of Beijing Enterprises Water Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Dai Xiaohu ("Mr. Dai") has been appointed as an independent non-executive director ("INED") of the Company with effect from 30 November 2022.

Mr. Dai, aged 60, obtained a bachelor's degree in environmental engineering from Tongji University in July 1985, and a doctorate degree in environment engineering from Department of Civil Engineering, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany in February 1992. He is currently an independent non-executive director of China Conch Environment Protection Holdings Limited (Stock Code: 587), a company listed on main board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange").

Mr. Dai lived and worked in Germany for 23 years and returned to China as a full-time special expert of overseas high-level talents since 2009. He made many pioneering achievements in the fields of environmental engineering, pollution control, solid waste recycling, energy saving and emission reduction. He published more than 260 SCI papers and authorized more than 100 patented inventions. Mr. Dai has been a director of the National Engineering Research Center for Urban Pollution Control of Tongji University since February 2010.

Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Dai has not held any directorship in any other listed companies in the past three years.

As at the date hereof, Mr. Dai does not have any interest in any shares, underlying shares or debenture of the Company and/or its associated corporation within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Save as disclosed herein and as at the date of this announcement, Mr. Dai does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company (as defined in the Rules Governing The Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange) (the "Listing Rules") and does not hold any position in the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

The Company and Mr. Dai entered into a letter of appointment for a term of three years effective on 30 November 2022. Pursuant to the bye-laws of the Company and the Listing Rules (as amended from time to time), Mr. Dai shall hold office until the next general meeting of the Company and, being eligible, offer himself for re-election and thereafter subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at annual general meetings of the Company. Mr. Dai is entitled to an annual director's fee of HK\$120,000 and/or bonus at the discretion of the Board by reference to the market conditions, the Group's performance, his duties and performance.

The Board is not aware of any other matter relating to the appointment of Mr. Dai that needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company and does not have any information required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Listing Rules.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to express welcome to Mr. Dai in joining the Board.

Following the appointment of Mr. Dai effective on 30 November 2022, the Company has five INEDs, representing not less than one-third of the total number of directors of the Company, which meets the proportion of INEDs required under Rule 3.10A of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board

Beijing Enterprises Water Group Limited

Xiong Bin

Chairman

Hong Kong, 30 November 2022

As at the date of this announcement and following appointment of independent non-executive director, the board of directors of the Company comprises eight executive directors, namely Mr. Xiong Bin (Chairman), Mr. Jiang Xinhao, Mr. Zhou Min (Chief Executive Officer), Mr. Li Haifeng, Mr. Ke Jian, Ms. Sha Ning, Mr. Tung Woon Cheung Eric and Mr. Li Li, one non-executive director, namely Mr. Wang Dianchang and five independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Shea Chun Lok Quadrant, Mr. Zhang Gaobo, Mr. Guo Rui, Mr. Chau On Ta Yuen and Mr. Dai Xiaohu.