Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 626)

DEMISE OF NON-EXECUTIVE CHAIRMAN

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Public Financial Holdings Limited (the "Company") announces with deep sorrow that Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow ("Tan Sri Teh"), Non-Executive Chairman of the Company, passed away peacefully on 12 December 2022.

Tan Sri Teh founded Public Bank Berhad ("Public Bank"), the holding company of the Company and a commercial bank listed on Bursa Malaysia Securities Berhad, in 1965 at the age of 35. He was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Public Bank since its commencement of business operations on 6 August 1966. He retired as the Non-Executive Chairman of Public Bank on 31 December 2018, and was conferred the title of Chairman Emeritus and Adviser of Public Bank on 1 January 2019, and remained as a Non-Executive Director on the Board of Public Bank.

Tan Sri Teh was appointed Non-Executive Chairman of the Company in September 1991. He was also the Non-Executive Chairman of the Boards and Chairman of the Board Executive Committees of Public Bank (Hong Kong) Limited and Public Finance Limited.

With the strong foundation and the excellent corporate culture built by Tan Sri Teh, the Board would continue the business operations and lead the Group to greater heights.

The Company and the Board would like to pay a special tribute for the immeasurable contributions Tan Sri Teh had made to the Group during his tenure of office, and extend their deepest condolences to Tan Sri Teh's family.

By Order of the Board

Public Financial Holdings Limited

Tan Yoke Kong

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 12 December 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises Mr. Lai Wan, Dato' Chang Kat Kiam, Mr. Chong Yam Kiang and Mr. Quah Poh Keat as Non-Executive Directors, Mr. Tan Yoke Kong as Executive Director, and Mr. Lee Chin Guan, Mr. Lim Chao Li and Ms. Cheah Kim Ling as Independent Non-Executive Directors.

* For identification purpose only