Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

中國工商銀行股份有限公司

INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) Stock Code: 1398

USD Preference Shares Stock Code: 4620

ANNOUNCEMENT ON THE APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "**Bank**") convened a meeting on 1 February 2024 and elected Mr. Liao Lin as the Chairman of the Board of Directors and the Chairman of the Strategy Committee of the Board of Directors of the Bank. Recently, the Bank received the "Qualification Approval of Liao Lin of Industrial and Commercial Bank by National Administration of Financial Regulation" (Jin Fu [2024] No. 69). Pursuant to the relevant requirements, the qualification of Mr. Liao Lin as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Bank has been approved by the National Administration of Financial Regulation. The appointments of Mr. Liao Lin as Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chairman of the Strategy Committee of the Board of Directors of the Bank have become effective. In accordance with the Articles of Association of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited, the legal representative of the Bank will change accordingly.

Please refer to the Announcement of the Resolutions of the Board of Directors of the Bank dated 1 February 2024 for the biographical details of Mr. Liao Lin.

The Bank would like to extend its warm welcome to Mr. Liao Lin in assuming office of the Chairman of the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 19 February 2024

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors comprises Mr. LIAO Lin and Mr. WANG Jingwu as executive directors, Mr. LU Yongzhen, Mr. FENG Weidong, Ms. CAO Liqun, Ms. CHEN Yifang and Mr. DONG Yang as non-executive directors, Mr. Anthony Francis NEOH, Mr. YANG Siu Shun, Mr. SHEN Si, Mr. Fred Zuliu HU and Mr. Norman CHAN Tak Lam as independent non-executive directors.