Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國石油天然氣股份有限公司 PETROCHINA COMPANY LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 857)

PROPOSED ELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF A SUPERVISOR

The supervisory committee (the "**Supervisory Committee**") of PetroChina Company Limited (the "**Company**") hereby announces that the Supervisory Committee has proposed to elect and appoint Mr. Zhou Song as a shareholder representative supervisor of the Company. The appointment of Mr. Zhou Song shall be approved by the shareholders of the Company (the "**Shareholders**") by way of ordinary resolution at the general meeting of the Company.

The biographical details of Mr. Zhou Song are set out below:

Mr. Zhou Song, aged 51, a member of the Party committee and chief accountant of China National Petroleum Corporation ("**CNPC**"), the chairman of the supervisory committee of China Merchants Shekou Industrial Zone Holdings Co., Ltd. and a non-executive director of China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. ("**CM Bank**"). Mr. Zhou is a senior economist with a master's degree. From June 2010, Mr. Zhou served successively as the general manager of the planning and finance department of the head office of CM Bank, the business director and general manager of the assets and liabilities management department of the head office of CM Bank, the president of the general office of investment banking and financial market business and the general manager of the assets management department of the head office of CM Bank, and vice chief accountant of China Merchants Group Ltd. He has served as the chairman of the supervisory committee of China Merchants Shekou Industrial Zone Holdings Co., Ltd. since September 2018. He served as a member of the Party committee and chief accountant of CM Bank since October 2018. He has served as a member of the Party committee and chief accountant of CNPC since December 2023.

Save as disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, Mr. Zhou Song (i) has not held any directorship in any other listed companies in the past three years; (ii) does not have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial Shareholder (as defined in the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Stock Exchange Listing Rules**") or controlling Shareholder (as defined in the Stock Exchange Listing Rules) of the Company; and (iii) does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong.

Save as disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, there is no information on Mr. Zhou Song that needs to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Stock Exchange Listing Rules and there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the Shareholders.

If the appointment of Mr. Zhou Song is approved at the general meeting of the Company, the term of office of Mr. Zhou Song will commence from the date on which the relevant resolution being approved by the Shareholders until the expiry of the term of the ninth session of the Supervisory Committee. Mr. Zhou Song will not receive emoluments from the Company in respect of his service as a shareholder representative supervisor of the Company.

A notice and circular of a general meeting of the Company containing, among other things, the proposed appointment of Mr. Zhou Song as a shareholder representative supervisor of the Company, will be despatched to the Shareholders as soon as practicable in due course.

By order of the Board PetroChina Company Limited Company Secretary WANG Hua

Beijing, the PRC 25 March 2024

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Dai Houliang as Chairman; Mr. Hou Qijun as Vice Chairman and non-executive Director; Mr. Duan Liangwei and Mr. Xie Jun as non-executive Directors; Mr. Huang Yongzhang, Mr. Ren Lixin and Mr. Zhang Daowei as executive Directors; and Mr. Cai Jinyong, Mr. Jiang, Simon X., Mr. Zhang Laibin, Ms. Hung Lo Shan Lusan and Mr. Ho Kevin King Lun as independent non-executive Directors.