Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (the "Bank")

(Stock Code: 3988 and 4619 (Preference Shares))

ANNOUNCEMENT

Appointment of Ms. Liu Xiaolei as Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank

The 2024 First Extraordinary General Meeting of the Bank held on 26 February 2024 elected Ms. Liu Xiaolei as Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank. The Bank has received the approval from the National Financial Regulatory Administration on the appointment of Ms. Liu Xiaolei.

Ms. Liu Xiaolei has begun to serve as Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank as well as Chair and member of the Audit Committee, member of the Strategic Development Committee, member of the Risk Policy Committee, member of the Personnel and Remuneration Committee, and member of the Connected Transactions Control Committee of the Board of Directors of the Bank (the "**Board**") with effect from 26 March 2024. The term of office of Ms. Liu Xiaolei as Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank is three years. The Board welcomes the joining of Ms. Liu Xiaolei.

The biographic details of Ms. Liu Xiaolei are as follows:

Liu Xiaolei, female, Chinese nationality, born in 1974. Ms. Liu serves as Professor of Finance and Accounting, as well as the Deputy Director of the Faculty of Economics & Management and Chair of the Finance Department at Guanghua School of Management, Peking University. Ms. Liu has held several positions at Peking University, including Deputy Director of the Faculty of Economics & Management since May 2022, Peking University Boya Distinguished Professor since 2018, Chair of the Finance Department at Guanghua School of Management since November 2015, and Professor of Finance and Accounting at Guanghua School of Management since December 2014. Before joining Peking University, Ms. Liu served as an Assistant Professor and later a tenured Associate Professor at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology between December 2005 and December 2014. Since June 2021, Ms. Liu has been an independent director of First Capital Securities Co., Ltd. Between April 2020 and February 2024, she served as an independent director of First 2021, she served as an independent director of Chasing Securities Co., Ltd. She also served as an independent director of Tianjin Youfa Steel Pipe Group Co., Ltd. from February 2018 to January

2022 and acted as the convener of the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors. In 1995, Ms. Liu obtained a BA in Economics from Nankai University, followed by an MA in Economics from the University of International Business and Economics in 1998. In 2006, she completed her Ph.D. at the University of Rochester in the USA. Ms. Liu's research interests include corporate finance, accounting, risk management, and financial markets. She was included in the 2022 "Highly Cited Chinese Researchers" list published by Elsevier, and her work has received numerous national and international awards.

The remuneration of the Bank's Independent Non-executive Directors is determined in accordance with the remuneration standards for Independent Non-executive Directors approved by the Bank's Shareholders' Meeting. The actual remuneration to be received by Independent Non-executive Directors of the Bank is determined based on the assessment results of their duty performance. The Personnel and Remuneration Committee of the Board is responsible for reviewing the annual remuneration scheme which will be recommended to the Board and submitted for approval by the Shareholders' Meeting of the Bank. For details of the remuneration of Directors of the Bank, please refer to the Annual Report and relevant announcements of the Bank.

As far as the directors of the Bank are aware and save as disclosed before, Ms. Liu Xiaolei does not hold any directorship in other public companies, the securities of which are listed on any securities market in the Chinese mainland, Hong Kong (China) or overseas in the last three years, nor does she have any relationship with any director, senior management member, or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Bank, nor does she hold any other positions in the Bank or any of its subsidiaries, and she has not received any remuneration from the Bank. As at the date of this announcement, Ms. Liu Xiaolei does not have any interests in the shares of the Bank or its associated companies within the meaning of Part XV of the *Securities and Futures Ordinance* of Hong Kong.

Pursuant to requirements of the *Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited* ("**Hong Kong Listing Rules**"), Ms. Liu Xiaolei has confirmed to the Bank (i) her independence as regards each of the factors referred to in Rule 3.13(1) to (8) of the Hong Kong Listing Rules; (ii) that she has no past or present financial or other interest in the business of the Bank or any of its subsidiaries or any connection with any core connected person (as such term is defined in the Hong Kong Listing Rules) of the Bank; and (iii) that there are no other factors that may affect her independence at the time of her appointment.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other information in relation to the appointment of Ms. Liu Xiaolei that needs to be disclosed pursuant to any of the requirements set out in Rule 13.51(2) (h) to (v) of the Hong Kong Listing Rules, nor are there any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Board of Directors of Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 27 March 2024

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Bank are: Ge Haijiao, Liu Jin, Lin Jingzhen, Zhang Yong*, Zhang Jiangang*, Huang Binghua*, Liu Hui*, Shi Yongyan*, Martin Cheung Kong Liao[#], Chui Sai Peng Jose[#], Jean-Louis Ekra[#], E Weinan[#], Giovanni Tria[#] and Liu Xiaolei[#].

* Non-executive Directors

[#] Independent Non-executive Directors