Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)

(Stock code: 1681)

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHANGES IN COMPOSITION OF BOARD COMMITTEES

The board (the "Board") of directors (the "Director(s)") of Consun Pharmaceutical Group Limited (the "Company", together with its subsidiaries, the "Group") is pleased to announce that Professor Li Yikai (李義凱) ("Professor Li") is appointed as an independent non-executive Director, the chairman of the nomination committee (the "Nomination Committee") and a member of the audit committee (the "Audit Committee") of the Company with effect from 21 June 2024 (the "Appointment").

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Professor Li, aged 61, has extensive experience in traditional Chinese medicine. He has been a director of teaching and research office of the School of Traditional Chinese Medicine of Southern Medical University since 2004, adjunct professor of The University of Hong Kong and The Chinese University of Hong Kong since September 2000 and September 2022 respectively, vice president of the Journal of Cervicodynia and Lumbodynia\* (頸腰痛雜誌) since November 2008. Professor Li was also appointed as vice chairman of the National Soft Tissue Pain Research Association\* (全國軟組織疼痛研究會) from September 2002 to September 2012, vice president of acupotomy branch of China Association of Chinese Medicine\* (中華中醫藥學會) from October 2010 to October 2018 and vice president of massage branch of the China Association of Chinese Medicine\* (中華中醫藥學會) from December 2010 to December 2018.

Professor Li obtained a doctorate degree in medicine from Shanghai University of Traditional Chinese Medicine in July 1995 and became a postdoctoral fellow of Southern Medical University (formerly known as First Military Medical University of the People's Liberation Army\* (中國人民解放軍第一軍醫大學)) in November 1997. He was elected as the first Qihuang Scholars\* (首屆岐黃學者) in December 2019, the seventh National traditional Chinese medicine expert instructors\* (第七批全國老中醫藥專家指導老師) and second graded professor\* (二級教授) in November 2021 respectively. Professor Li won the second prize of China Medical Science and Technology Award\* (中華醫學科技獎) in March 2023 and first prize of National Teaching Achievements\* (國家級教學成果) in July 2023.

The Company entered into a service agreement with Professor Li for acting as an independent non-executive Director for a term of three years commencing from the date of his appointment. Professor Li will hold office until the next annual general meeting of the Company and shall then be eligible for re-election in accordance with the articles of association of the Company. Professor Li will be entitled to a director's fee of RMB200,000 per year, which is determined with reference to the Company's performance and profitability, as well as remuneration benchmark in the industry and the prevailing market conditions.

Save as disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, Professor Li has confirmed that he does not (i) hold any directorship in any other public companies, the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years; (ii) have any relationship with any Director, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company; (iii) hold any position in the Company or other members of the Group; and (iv) have any interest in any shares of the Company (within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong)).

Professor Li has also confirmed (a) his independence as regards to each of the factors contained in Rules 3.13(1) to (8) of the Rules (the "Listing Rules") Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited; (b) that he had no past or present financial or other interest in the business of the Group or any connection with any core connected persons (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Company; and (c) that there are no other factors that may affect his independence at the time of the Appointment.

In addition, as disclosed in the announcement of the Company dated 25 March 2024 (the "Announcement") in relation to, among others, the resignation of Mr. Su Yuanfu as an independent non-executive Director with effect from 25 March 2024 (the "Resignation"), the number of the Board's independent non-executive Directors had fallen below the minimum requirement of three under Rule 3.10(1) of the Listing Rules as a result of the Resignation, and the Company would fill the said vacancy within three months from the date of the Announcement in accordance with Rule 3.11 of the Listing Rules. Following the Appointment, the number of independent non-executive Directors has increased to three. Accordingly, the Company is in compliance with the requirements under the Rules 3.10(1) and 3.11 of the Listing Rules.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other matter in relation to the Appointment that is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules, nor is there any other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

## CHANGES IN COMPOSITION OF BOARD COMMITTEES

With effect from 21 June 2024:

- (i) Dr. Zhang Lihua has ceased to be a member of the Audit Committee and Professor Li has been appointed as a member of the Audit Committee.
- (ii) Mr. Feng Zhongshi has ceased to be the chairman and a member of the Nomination Committee and Professor Li has been appointed as the chairman and a member of the Nomination Committee.

The Board would like to extend a warm welcome to Professor Li in joining the Board.

By order of the Board of

Consun Pharmaceutical Group Limited

AN Meng

Chairman

Hong Kong, 21 June 2024

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. An Meng and Professor Zhu Quan as executive Directors; Dr. Zhang Lihua as non-executive Director; Mr. Feng Zhongshi, Ms. Chen Yujun and Professor Li Yikai as independent non-executive Directors.

\* for identification only